Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
14 Apr

Sinai Peninsula: Moses Mount & Dahab

Publié par Vince  - Catégories :  #Egypt

As I explained in the previous post, Cairo is a huge city and sometimes it feels good to get out of it. Depending on how long your break will be, you'll have plenty of choices while exploring Egypt.

While most of the cairotes that I know usually go to Sharm el Sheikh, the foreign community that work or study in Cairo prefer other parts of Sinai. Sharm el Sheikh is poshy and people like it for that : big resorts, the beach, partying... Well for me and my friends, we were trying to get out of a noisy city so it was not go visit another one ! I've been myself only once to Sharm and that was to visit my friend Rodolphe "Pixote" who was giving capoeira classes there. Otherwise I don't think I would have gone there. There are other parts of Sinai much more lay back and enjoyable. I think the first trip I did was with Caroline and Julia, two colleagues of mine and we started by climbing Mount Sinai. The mount is in the Sinai Peninsula and this is where Moses received the Ten Commandments. We started our walk before in the afternoon to watch the sunset from the top. The hike is not hard, just have to follow the path. The last steps required more energy but that's ok. I think that in 2h-2h30 you can reach the top. The view is gorgeous and colors are beautiful. Once you reach the summit, you'll find a chapel and Bedouin guys renting blankets if the weather is chilly or even cold.

Sinai Mount 1Sinai Mount 1
Sinai Mount 1

Sinai Mount 1

I climbed a second time Sinai Mount with my french friends that visited me and that one was epic ! It was very cold and we hiked at night around 11pm, reach the top early and slept there. Some of them were saying the spent their coldest night ever ! I think two of them even slept inside their sleeping bag with their shoes on ! Haha. The wind was blowing and we were just protected by a small wall. When we walk up, we were the only one that slept there, a lot of people were there to watch the sunrise, commenting either on the beauty of the landscape, either on the craziness of those brave/stupid guys that slept there. But we enjoyed also the sunrise a little bit after. I was ok on the way back but most of my friends got sick and had stomach troubles... not easy when you walk on a small path with people around ! Hehe.

Sinai Mount 2nd expeditionSinai Mount 2nd expedition
Sinai Mount 2nd expedition

Sinai Mount 2nd expedition

When you go to St Catherine (Mount Sinai), you are usually on your way some place else. Both time I went there, from St Catherine we headed to Dahab. Located in the southeast part of Sinai, Dahab is a small town that used to be a fishing village. A lot of tourists are going there to do scuba diving and windsurfing. I think nowadays you can probably kitesurf there too. I heard from people that knew Dahab before that a lot of backpackers interested in diving but also in smoking a lot of weed were going there. The place lost that part but still, backpackers are coming to scuba dive with one of the numerous diving centers. The Red Sea is one of the best place to do diving and snorkel so I also went there to start classes. I didn't know how long I would stay in Egypt but as really enjoyed my time there and from the first year, I started taking diving course.

I went to the Sunsplash hotel, owned by a German lady named Anita and her Egyptian wonderful crew. Said my diving instructor became a friend and I did with him my PADI open water and advanced open water courses. Dahab was for me refreshing and diving there was an outlet. I could forget about my problems, if problems I had. Dahab offers one of the most famous dive spot : the blue hole. An impressive location and if you go there... don't miss the boards on the wall before entering the water. It's all the names of the guys who died there... scary !!!

Dahab
DahabDahab
Dahab

Dahab

Once in Dahab and between two dives, you can walk on the main street and do some shopping : t-shirts, shisha, Egyptians goodies... but you must bargain because you're not in Cairo anymore. On that main street, there are lots of agencies that offers activities such as buggy in the desert, camel ride, visit canyons, go to St Catherine... I was not really interested in any of those but a friend recommended me to go to Ras Abu Galum, a small village at the edge, north of "downtown" Dahab. The first time I went there, we walked along the shore and came back by camels. The second one, we did the round trip by camels and ended up with sore bottom !

But the place is worth the travel. No one there, very lay back and beautiful place. Easy to snorkel. The meal prepared by Bedouins is part of the deal... perfect !

Ras Abu GalumRas Abu Galum
Ras Abu GalumRas Abu Galum

Ras Abu Galum

Another great place to go when you're in the area is "Castle Zaman" ! Overlooking the Gulf of Aqaba, Castle Zaman is a restaurant built like an old fortification. It offers slow-food meals that one must order a day ahead. You can choose between seafood platter, lamb meat or fish. The owner says that the platter are fit for a Pharaoh. It is a bit pricy but worth the flavor. Very great food. When I went there, the swimming pool was closed but on the cliff, the view is as awesome as the food.

Castle Zaman
Castle ZamanCastle ZamanCastle Zaman

Castle Zaman

Commenter cet article
P
For people with pets inside the house, then it is important to vacuum an individual's floor, furniture and everything else. Further, for those who lose a single thing, in the place, like auto keys or simply your pockets, then it is simple to find them for those who keep everything from a systematic strategy.
Répondre
D
Dubai is a beautiful and mesmerizing land that has a lot to offer for everyone. Whether you'd like to see some vast and beautiful architecture or luscious countries depicting nature at its best, you will get it all here. One of the amazing things that you can't miss in Dubai is Dubai desert safari. Yes, it is a trip that will take you deep into the desert and make you experience the most wonderful things you would ever want to.
Répondre
C
A new responsible painter really should have business insurance and also worker's reimbursement insurance. If your current painter has no insurance along with accidentally fails something as well as hurts themselves it could be your accountability to incur your charges for this accident. Obtain proof involving insurance ahead of hiring the house painter.
Répondre
M
A small number of agencies always advertise out of date offerings from provided that five decades back. We suggest prospective employers to take care of the marketed maid bio-data being a rough information, and constantly ask designed for the newest available candidates from your maid organizations. Do not necessarily waste your efforts to search through countless bio-data web pages, only to master that the shortlisted cleaning service is, in reality, unavailable regarding employment. Untruthful agencies could even pretend your preferred cleaning service was coincidentally picked by one more competing consumer, just hrs earlier.
Répondre
S
The 1st one can be that medical reform merely affects uninsured men and women. The second an example may be that Treatment benefits plus the Medicare software isn't gonna have health proper care reform. And then this last an example may be that medical reform could reduce the price of health.
Répondre

À propos

From a place to another... until... until it's time to settle somewhere ! You will be able to have a taste of what my life looks like until then.