Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
15 Oct

Xi'an, China and a new start

Publié par Vince  - Catégories :  #China

Before the end of the 2015 schoolyear, I decided to leave Djibouti and its 45°C to pursue other objectives. I asked for a year-off and started packing again. I brought most of my stuff back to my parents' house in France. My mess is accumulating in their attic and my mum is getting annoyed but one day I promise, I will take them back... One day...

For now, I will just take some winter clothes, those that I left at their place 3 years ago because I knew I would never wear them in Djibouti and its heat. Why am I taking them now ? Because I am gonna live in China and I heard from my girlfriend that winter is pretty cold there.

July 2015, I am back home / / September 15th, Xi'an here I am.

Xi'anXi'an

Xi'an

I decided to follow my dream and live in Asia. The main reason for me to put my career on break was Mai, my girlfriend. The distance was not convenient and I wanted to give a new start to our life. Xi'an is known for the Terracotta Warrior and I visited them in February when I first came to see her in February. Beside them, I had no idea where I was going to live. At least Mai already had a place to stay but I had no idea if the city would fit me and if I would fit the city. However my first trip to Xi'an gave me a good impression and I pictured myself playing table tennis with grandpas at the park. Hehe.

Table tennis at the park / Enjoying french wineTable tennis at the park / Enjoying french wine

Table tennis at the park / Enjoying french wine

September, 13th... I am in China with the hope of finding something that would allow me to stay longer than 30 days. Mai was already working and I started looking for something in the schools around. I checked online for language teacher positions: primary schools, "international" institute, Alliance Française... I got contacts and numbers and even scheduled an interview with one of them. However, my intention was to find a position that would involve my subject: P.E. Two weeks after I landed in China I got the chance to meet the headmaster of Hanova Int. School and guess what... They needed someone in Primary! I always wanted to teach in English so that was for me the occasion. However, I would have to teach early years and primary... Oups... The little ones that are always crying and asking if they can go to the bathroom every 5 min ???!

I know how to sell myself on the market and showed adaptation skills during the interview.

I got the position and then started the challenge !!! 

Hanova, my new employer

Hanova, my new employer

Commenter cet article

À propos

From a place to another... until... until it's time to settle somewhere ! You will be able to have a taste of what my life looks like until then.